RSS

What if You Could Meet Your Great-great-great Grandmother?

21 May

Recently a Catholic news organization reported that a Virginia family has 6 generations of daughters living under one roof. The family matriarch, Mollie Wood, is 111 years old. The youngest daughter is 7 weeks old. When I read about this family, I thought about what it would mean to me to have had the opportunity to hear our family stories directly from my great-grandparents, my great-great-grandparents, and my great-great-great-grandparents. It reminded me that preserving our stories and passing them on to the next generation gives voice in the present to the people who are no longer here to share them in person.

What family story would you like to share with future generations? If you are a member of our family, write it as a comment, below, or send it to me, and I will save it in our family history file.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 21, 2012 in Genealogy Lessons, Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
